London & Ryder

Founded 1850s

London & Ryder were established in the 1850s at 17 New Bond Street after taking over the business of Thomas Hancock, jeweller and goldsmith.

They advertised themselves in 1861 as “Goldsmiths, Silversmiths, & Jewellers…. Many years principal assistants to C. F. Hancock, having taken the above premises, established 30 years ago by their predecessor (Mr. Thomas Hancock)…”

London & Ryder exhibited at the 1862 International Exhibition in London’s South Kensington, and according to the official catalogue showcased “Jewellery, diamond work and silver plate.” Some notable pieces they created include the 1860 Stewards’ Cup for Goodwood Races, a beautiful gold and gem-set bouquet holder for the Maharaja Dhuleep Singh to give as a wedding present to the Princess of Wales in 1863, The Chesterfield Cup and the bespoke bridesmaids bracelets designed by Leopold de Rothschild for his wedding in 1881.

Their range of jewels was broad and characterised by “…good taste and sterling excellence…” they also offered a range of services including re-mounting old jewellery in “the modern style”.  An 1877 advertisement in the Illustrated London News invited potential clients to come and inspect their new stock of items including “bridesmaids’ lockets, wedding presents, court diamonds, diamond ornaments… necklaces, head ornaments, crosses, pendants, solitaires…” along with a “collection of Ceylon ‘Cat’s Eyes’, worn in India as a talisman to avert evil or misfortune”.

After the death of George Ryder in 1923 the company continued but it was taken over just a few years later in 1929 by their next door neighbours Finnigans Ltd, at 18 New Bond Street.  London & Ryder pieces occasionally come up for sale and the quality of the stones and craftsmanship is always evident.