Long before this however, Robert’s grandfather Eugène Linzeler (1808-1888) a goldsmith, sculptor and engraver founded his eponymous business in Paris in 1840. Both his brothers had also established their own goldsmith workshops independent of each other from where they created what was described as artistic and gem-set jewellery. Eugène had previously worked with Joseph Legrand and had a close working relationship with the jeweller Chabrolli. When the latter’s business collapsed, Linzeler was owed a lot of money, so in 1845 he took over the ex-Chabrolli shop at 11, Boulevard de la Madeleine and moved his own business into the premises.
The business was successful and sold jewellery, goldwork and small objet such as scent bottles. Eugène was liked and admired by his staff and colleagues and was held in high regard by members of the wider trade. For many years he served as treasurer of the Chambre Syndicale de la Bijouterie Joaillerie Orfèvrerie and when he finally retired in 1883, he was made an honorary member. He had been joined in the business in 1864 by his two eldest sons Eugène (1834-1898) and Frédéric (1836-1908) and they were followed in due course by his two younger sons from his second marriage, Charles Albert who was known as Albert (1844-1907) and George (1853-1927). The four brothers changed the name to Linzeler Frères and ran it between them for some years before George and his brother Eugène took over most of the day to day responsibilities. They were joined by Eugène’s son Ernest (1865-1940) and in 1885 the business moved a few doors down to number 15 Boulevard de la Madeleine from where it continued to operate for several years before closing in 1889.