Robert was descended from the renowned Linzeler family of jewellers who had been working in the trade since the early 19th century. Alexander was the son of Joseph Marchak (known as the Cartier of Kiev) who had arrived in Paris in 1918 a couple of years previously.
Styled Linzeler et Marchak the firm operated from Linzeler’s shop at 4 rue de la Paix in Paris, which he had opened in 1920, and together produced some truly exceptional jewels during their three years of operation. From geometric gem-set rings and drop earrings through stylish openwork brooches to pendant watches and elaborate desk clocks, their pieces were all flavoured with a distinct Art Deco aesthetic. They worked with the finest craftsmen as well as specialist workshops such as Vacheron Constantin for watch and clock movements, Strauss, Allard & Meyer for vanity cases and master craftsmen like Vladimir Makovsky who made stunning mother-of-pearl inlays.
Linzeler et Marchak were one of only thirty jewellers to exhibit at the 1925 Paris Exposition Internationale des Arts Décoratifs et Industriels Modernes. The outstanding quality of their jewellery in terms of design, craftsmanship and technical expertise earned them a Grand Prix and although they dissolved the partnership later that same year, they are remembered for producing some of the most exciting jewels of the Art Deco period.
The partnership ended somewhat acrimoniously and was reputedly due, at least in part, to the exhibition judges favouring of Marchak’s contribution over Linzeler’s. Alexander Marchak took over the shop at 4 rue de la Paix and kept the name Linzeler et Marchak until December 1927 when he changed it to A. Marchak. Meanwhile Robert Linzeler continued to run his eponymous business from the two other premises he owned on rue d’Argenson and rue de Turbigo.